15th Annual Féile Filíochta
an international poetry competition


The 15th Annual Féile Filíochta - Europe's biggest and brightest international poetry competition - is underway! Last year it attracted in excess of 4,600 entries in nine languages from all over the world and we are now looking for your entries.

With a prize fund of EUR12,300 from Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council, three age categories and a range of additional prizes from cultural organisations and embassies, the Féile Filíochta is internationally recognised as a showcase and stimulus for the craft of poetry writing.

This will be the second year that the beautiful Féile Filíochta Poem of Europe trophy will be awarded by the Assemblée des Régions d'Europe for the most outstanding poem in the adult categories. This was won in 2002 by the Swedish prizewinner, Merit Åhs, for her poem Monasterboice.

The competition is open to all adults and young people, who may submit up to four poems in each language in their age group. These age groups are: Adult; Young People Under 17; and in the Irish and English languages, a Young People Under 12 category. Entry is free of charge.

This year, entries are invited in Irish, English, German, French, Italian, Welsh, Spanish, Scottish Gaelic and Swedish. Our judges for 2003 include Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Ciaran O'Driscoll, Pat Boran, Peter Jankowsky, Jean Philippe Imbert, Silvia Bertoni, Dewi Wyn Evans, Antonia Flores, Rody Gorman and our Swedish jury.

Closing date for receipt of entries is Saturday 11th October 2003. Multilingual information and entry forms available from our website from 1st July and further Irish/English entry forms available from:

Féile Filíochta/International Poetry Competition
P.O. Box 6983
Co. Dublin

T 2781788 F 2781792
Website www.dlrcoco.ie/library

For further information, please contact
Anne Duffy at aduffy@dlrcoco.ie
Billy O'Brien at wobrien@dlrcoco.ie
or at the above phone number.


Thanks for sharing the news!


Loss  | Vashon | Services | Art | Poetry | Store | Contact

© 1999 KotaPress All rights reserved.  ISSN 1534-1410 www.KotaPress.com
Please direct comments regarding this web site to webmaster@KotaPress.com